Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

VJQC Score: N/A
Album Name: SWAY
Record Label: NO FORMAT
Format: VINYL LP
Release Date: 10/26/2018

Vinyl LP pressing housed in gatefold jacket. 2018 release. We last heard G?rald Toto on trio album Bondeko, recorded with fellow global travellers Lokua Kanza and Richard Bona, the ''dreamy backdrop'' and ''immaculate sweet harmonies'' of which earned a run of four and five star reviews, leading one reviewer to liken the trio to ''an African Crosby, Stills and Nash.'' Entirely written, performed and produced single-handedly by G?rald, Sway's collection of 11 new songs takes it's listener on an imaginary journey to a world that has time to stop and stare, where the frenetic din of modernity is hushed to a murmur, Toto's songs seemingly plucked from a place of timeless reverie. The songs on Sway refuse categorization, a cultural melting pot of acoustic folk, jazz, soul, pop and blues with cosmopolitan borders that embrace exotic Creole and Caribbean favours. Highlights include the sweet, sambatinged romance of ''My Girlfriend'' and the futuristic doopwop that underpins ''Umbaka'', alongside the diaphanous, sun-dappled lilt of Sway's title track. Elsewhere, the gravitydefying 'Away Alive' and 'Let It Blow' are leavened by the skittering electronic beats that drive 'It's A Love Pain' and eerie, atmospheric album closer 'The Night Is Coming'. For if quiet is the new loud, G?rald Toto's voice is blessed with an eloquence that demands to be heard, as his gently insistent songs whisper in an emotional language as universal as it is engaging. Sway to the rhythms of life.